Is this correct way of doing scripting?

Hi members,
    I'm new to QTP and using 8.2 version. I elaborate the steps that I follow while preparing scripts for my web application. Please tell me the said way is correct.
    a. Created an object repository and saved it as an shared object repository.
    b. Imported the repository into test and created script such as SystemUtil.Run "iexplorer.exe","http:\\...".
    c. Created recovery scenarios and utility functions (*.vbs files) required for the scripts. I created numerous test case scripts this way.
    d. Then I created driver scripts using the automation object references syntax and called the QTP app, dynamically loading the repository and called the concerned test case scripts and wrote the reults in speciifed folder etc,..
    Plz tell me is this the right way to proceed with scripting since I'm single-handedly preparing the scripts Plz help me in my knowledge quest.

Re: Is this correct way of doing scripting?

I think you are in right path. Except, I would suggest you to use Dynamic Object Repository (DOR) instead QTP built-in Object Repository. Then beginning of each test cases call the DOR.
    Prashant Patel

Can you please let me know whetehr you are following any Object Oriented Approach (class,functions etc) while writing the script.

Advanced Member
    Pune, India

Hi rlraja

I am also working on QTP but on 9.0 version and i am new to qtp too. After reading your posting i came to know that i am not writing scripts as you mentioned.

In my case i have to write scripts for one .Net application which will be used as n tier application. So after each update or changes they need not spend much time on searching bugs developed by new changes

But what i did for one module(which include 16 windows) i have written 16 scripts, but i haven't created *.vbs files neither created shared repository