Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Handling variations in identifiers ...

I'm new to QTP and am having trouble working out this problem.
    I have searched the docs and message board but haven't found a solution.

I am putting together a script that will have 200 or so iterations with different input parameters.

This is a model of the script I'd use

01 Browser("Browser").Navigate "http://test.test.com/"
    02 Browser("Browser").Page("Search Page").WebEdit("ctl00$cplhMainContainer$ctl00$")." Set DataTable("ColorList", dtGlobalSheet)
    03 Browser("Browser").Page("Search Page").WebButton("Search").Click
    04 Browser("Browser").Page("Blue Results").Link("Blue1").Click
    05 Browser("Browser").Page("Blue Details").WebElement("Blue2").Check CheckPoint("Blue3")

With this data:

My problem is that with each subsequent iteration, the Page, Link, WebElement and CheckPoint itentifiers on lines 4 and 5 will change based on the input from line 2.
    E.g. "Red" will display Page("Red Results"), Page("Red Details"), WebElement("Red2"), CheckPoint("Red3") and so on.

Is it possible to set up the script to accommodate the variation in the identifier names , etc?
    I hope it isn't necessary to explicitly list the page names on lines 4 and 5

Thanks in advance.

Advanced Member
    Salt Lake City, UT, USA
    Post Thanks / Like
    1 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Handling variations in identifiers ...

This is a big question, and the answer is pretty much the entire "Advanced QTP" course. Or most of it.

First, get rid of that checkpoint. Don't use checkpoints at all if you can avoid it. They're a pain in the backside to maintain if your application ever undergoes major changes.