Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Why is this object not found error

I am new to winrunner and i created script the usual way using Context sensitive mode. I think 2 times it ran fine then again I tried to run it said object not found, why is this? What else i need to do before running the script?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Why is this object not found error

Are you running in GUI-map-per-test mode, or global gui-map mode? If the latter (the way I prefer), you need to save the gui map after you record it, then make sure you insert code at the beginning of your script to load it (GUI_load()).

Assuming this was the problem, make sure you read the chapters of the User's Guide on working with GUI maps and make sure you understand it (and work through the Tutorial as well - it also goes over this important subject). Understanding what the GUI map is and how to work with it is crucial to getting anywhere with this tool.
    web site | [url=http://www.ebookworm.us/[/url]

[i]...Sound trumpets! Every trumpet in the host! / Sixty thousand, on these words, sound, so high the mountains sound, and the valleys resound.</i] (The Song of Roland)

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

I am running GUI map per test mode, so what do u suggest for this?

Thanks for the answer

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Has the application changed such that the object cannot be found?

Has the name of the object changed or whatever is used to identify it?

Does the object show up after WinRunner attempts to access it? If so, you need to look into synchronization. This is described in the User's Guide and the Tutorial.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded