Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Embarassingly Stupid Question - and a first posting to boot!

I've been a developer for 10 years and am dipping my toes into the new waters of formalised testing.

I have now played with demos of WinRunner and TestDirector, which look very promising. However, I have come to a juddering halt with determining what constitutes a "requirement" and what constitutes a "test plan".

Conceptually, I get it, but when faced with a new project, find myself confusing the two. Is there some "easy-to-do" equivalent of normalisation of data to differentiate?

Could someone please point me in the direction of some case studies which will help me clarify the difference?

Thanks for any help.

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Embarassingly Stupid Question - and a first posting to boot!

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by ManicallyDepressed:
    I've been a developer for 10 years and am dipping my toes into the new waters of formalised testing.

I have now played with demos of WinRunner and TestDirector, which look very promising. However, I have come to a juddering halt with determining what constitutes a "requirement" and what constitutes a "test plan".

Conceptually, I get it, but when faced with a new project, find myself confusing the two. Is there some "easy-to-do" equivalent of normalisation of data to differentiate?

Could someone please point me in the direction of some case studies which will help me clarify the difference?

Thanks for any help.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I don't know of any case studies, nor normalization techniques to help you here, but I'm not sure you need them.