Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

HPQC query: Select all failed test runs with no defects linked to them

Hi forum,

I was trying to find a solution for this online, a thread on this forum had the same question asked, however, the answer ended up in putting out test cases with defects linked, not test runs with no defects linked...

I've been messing around with a query for some time and never ended up with the right results.. So I'm trying to get all test runs (not test cases), which are failed and has no defects linked to them.

I'm quite new to SQL and databases, so this task is a bit over the top, so help on this is very much appreciated - thank you very much in advance!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded
    Hi frederik,

You should be able to figure out getting all Runs with a status of Failed fairly easily:

Code:
    SELECT
    RUN.RN_RUN_ID As "Run ID",
    RUN.RN_RUN_NAME As "Run Name",
    RUN.RN_STATUS As "Run Status"
    From RUN
    Where RUN.RN_STATUS = 'Failed'
    There's a table in ALM called LINK that is updated with a new entry whenever you link something with a Bug (not just Run, but Step, Cycle, etc). So, in order to find all Runs that DO have defects linked to them you might want something like this:
    Code:
    SELECT
    LINK.LN_ENTITY_ID As "Linked Entity ID",
    LINK.LN_ENTITY_TYPE As "Linked Entity Type",
    LINK.LN_BUG_ID As "Defect ID",
    RUN.RN_RUN_NAME As "Run Name",
    RUN.RN_STATUS As "Run Status"

FROM LINK

Join RUN on LINK.LN_ENTITY_ID=RUN.RN_RUN_ID

WHERE LINK.LN_ENTITY_TYPE = 'RUN'
    AND RUN.RN_STATUS = 'Failed'
    To get all Runs that are Failed that do not have defects linked, you'll just need to combine the two - get all Runs that are Failed and compare against the runs in the LINK table.

Bear in mind that, as mentioned above, defects can be linked to Steps, Runs, Cycles, etc.