Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: scripting for a VB application

<where can i read about this topic?>
    Program>Mercury LoaDRunner>Documentation>LoadRunner Books Online>Controller User Guide>Configure WAN emulation

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

scripting for a VB application

We have a VB application which takes in an xml request, sends it to the host and displays the response on two seperate boxes.

1. If i need to capture the script in loadrunner, is there an add-in that I have to use? which protocols should I select. I tried with both single and muliple protocols and varied all the logical protocols but still cannot make it work. what should i do?

2. I have never done a WAN emulation before. what are the general WAN parameters that we need to measure. how to do that in a load runner. where can i read about this topic?

replies appriciated

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

1. Have you tried SOAP (single proto)?

2. What about WAN do you need to emulate?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Originally posted by JakeBrake:
    1. Have you tried SOAP (single proto)?

2. What about WAN do you need to emulate?
    <font size="2" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica">1. I tried SOAP it didnt work either.

2. This is my case. I have to simulate users from AZ, FL and CA to access my server at IL. On a broader scale, how am i going to do that? I think I can use one of the network monitors to record the parameters.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

1. If you can't solve 1 then 2 is a non... Have you talke to Mercury about this? Are you dealing with a custom protocol - variation on SOAP? have you tried WinSock?