East Hartford, CT, USA

Translating WinRunner scripts to Loadrunner Transactions

I'm new to the WinRunner and Loadrunner Scene, so please bare with me if I ask something stupid.

Is there any way possible that I can take a Webtest for WinRunner Script and Translate that Business process script to a LoadRunner transaction script??

Re: Translating WinRunner scripts to Loadrunner Transactions

I don't quite get what you mean but I will attempt to answer.

You can use Loadrunner to drive winrunner scripts but winrunner scripts act on the GUI front end so for every winrunner script that you want to run you would need a separate machine (PC). However LoadRunner has it's own built in scripting language VuGen which does not require a GUI front end as it can work at the HTTP level e.g. just submitting the data the browser would submit when buttons are clicked, etc.
    Some of the functions are different in Loadrunner (lr_blah1, lr_blah2) and so are not used in Winrunner it would be best to right the script via Vu_Gen unless you require some screen validations like a returned value for specific input data (Even though you can capture this in loadrunner).
    If so I would suggest you drive a winrunner script from Loadrunner as well as generate load via Vu_Gen.

I hope I made sense.