Has anyone tried to config something in QC that would automatically disconnect the users that are in idle state for > 30 min or an hour?
I tried using WAIT_BEFORE_DISCONNECT config parameter, but it gives warning to the user without disconnecting. It also messes up the session, if the user choose to ignore the warning.
That is the setting you need. Read page 110 in the Admin Guide for the specific use of that parameter (I am not going to retype it out from the manual verbatim), but it disconnects the user.
The information is still displayed on their screen, but as soon as they click on anything they will receive error messages saying they are disconnected. It isn't a warning, it is more of a statement. At that point it is telling them they are disconnected (which is the "messes up the session" you are seeing as the ActiveX controls are trying to update information from a connection that no longer exists back to the server)
You can confirm by checking the licenses in use via SiteAdmin when a user has the message on their screen for a session/connection time exceeded for inactivity.