Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Creating a custom workflow

Hello everyone,
    First, a bit of introduction, I'm a french student, working for an IT company, and I have to customize QC (defect fields, in fact) to deal with other objects, named "FIR" ("Fiche d'Inscription en Recette").
    Anyway.
    I'd like to create a workflow for my FIRs status, to have a natural "evolution" of it.
    It would look like something like that:
    New ->Agreed ->In discuss ->Done(defect/FIR closed)
    ->Incomplete
    ->Denied

(Sorry if you can't read, I'm not an ASCII artist [img]/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img])

I think that it can be done with a custom field, with a custom list attached, and scripts that define which status can be picked, depending on the previous status.
    But how to do it?
    An easier way would be to use the already existing BG_STATUS field, but I can't modify it, nor its list.

Thanks a lot if you have any clues or leads...

PS: sorry if I made mistakes [img]/images/graemlins/blush.gif[/img]

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Creating a custom workflow

Excellent first post, actually!

OK - let's see if this sends you down the right path:

Step 1: Create the list of FIR information you want to be able to change from one item to the next. (see Step1.jpg attached).

Step 2: Create a user field in the Defects Module called FIR, and link it to the List you created in Step 1 (See Step2.jpg attached)

Step 3: Now you need to go to your group setup and initiate the security for the field (see Step3.jpg), this is where you can state from what value it can be changed to another value. This allows you to have the standard users having to 'stick to a plan', while a project manager or admin can have the ability to change it to what ever was needed.