User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

Questions about QC

I've just started a job as a Test Analyst. I've been recruited within the company, I have no previous testing experience although I do have some testing theory knowledge. I am finding there is quite a steep learning curve.

I use QC within my job to write/run manual tests. Looking at the posts in this forum people are talking about a lot of features that don't seem to exist within the QC I'm using so either these features are disabled or an old version of QC is being used. For example, I can't import from Excel but I can export.

1. All the testing we do is manual. Looking at existing test scripts there are often 10 or so scripts that will do a very similar thing but under different conditions or using different types of input data. Something I noticed was that in each test there may a step where a dialog box opens and the expected output might read:

"X Dialog box opens, check that fields for Name, Address, Date of birth, [...] are shown and buttons "OK", "Cancel" are shown."

It looks like a thorough test step to me. But then when I look at all the other 9 tests the exact same step is there. I'm thinking that it must surely be bad practice to have the person running the tests testing the same part of the GUI over and over especially when a) the steps taken to reach that point were exactly the same for each test and b) there's no reason to expect that the GUI may change from one test to the next. As my job was to review and update these scripts I just deleted anything that asked the tester to look for buttons, etc. so that the focus was instead functionality (e.g. does value X appear when we do A, B and C.) I did include an extra test just to check the GUI matched the design though.

Is my thinking correct? Is there a better way I could do this? I think ideally separate tests would be run for GUI but generally in my department it seems to be combined.