Delete QC users
I'm at the scenario to remove from QC any of the testers who left my company.So, my questions are :
Can we delete any of the existing QC users?
If yes, what would be the impact on the testcases etc., written under that userid ?
What are the considerations to be made while deleting ?
Finally, can we just deactivate the users instead of deleting?
Many Thanks in advance!!
Re: Delete QC users
Here are the details , I've found on search :
1.Deleting the users will not have any affect on the previously stored data. Anywhere that user name exists (such as test designer) will remain. However, that user name will no longer be available in the User List for use in filtering the grid or reports.
2... And when you will have set the Verify Value on such a field and you will edit this record then it will not allow to save it untill you change such a username to one of the usernames from current project user list.
Does removing a user from a project but keeping them in the QC site admin database eliminate these above effects?
Deleting users from a Project but leaving them in Site Admin does NOT aliviate the given issues.
First verify that there are no Defects assigned to user. If so, reassign them to proper individual(s). Verify there are no Test Cases identifying this user as the Responsible Tester. If so, change to proper individual. Once all Assignment values are changed, delete the user from Site Admin.