The problem I am trying to solve:
Users are deleting artifacts from QC when they shouldn't.
I know I can go into the roles and make a copy of all the roles and remove the permissions for deleting, but I was hoping there was a means to do this either via workflow or through running an update query in SA.
Delete is an action that can be halted/altered in the ActionCanExecute workflow.
You can also hide visibility of Delete from the right-mouse-click menu.
But the best thing you can do for your projects safety is remove the permission from your groups.
While I have been working for Businesses that are Vendor partners with HP, IBM and Microsoft, my opinions and advice is my own.
The solutions provided are either sourced from my own scripting libraries or from a quick Google Search.