Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Rejecting Testing Schools

Clients, Contexts and Schools:
    http://uktmf.com/blog/paulgerrard/20...d_schools.html

Paul Gerrard wrote an excellent article rejecting the notion of schools of testing (contextual school, etc). Well.. not rejecting the ideas, but a good explanation of why he doesn't belong to any school of testing.

I used to somewhat buy the "Schools" idea, but after more thought I think its naive and limiting.

I hereby declare myself No-School.
    Corey Goldberg
    Homepage: goldb.org
    Twitter: twitter.com/cgoldberg
    Google+: gplus.to/cgoldberg

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Rejecting Testing Schools

Corey,

This is an excellent blog. Since I am a consultant also, I can't choose client's overall testing methodology. Interestingly enough, my world (Test Automation/Performance testing) does not have too many dependencies on what testing process used.

Anyway, can I join your No-School school? [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Igor

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

So, contextually speaking, you are part of the "No-School" School of Thought?
    Joe Strazzere
    Visit my website: AllThingsQuality.com to learn more about quality, testing, and QA!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

nope.. No-School is a not a name of a school. rather, it is not a school at all.
    Corey Goldberg

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

You know what? In generaly, I've really started to hate the whole "schools" debate. I am actually part of a context-driven group and I participated initially, but it very shortly became old.