Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Job descriptions/responsibilities

Having just come to an organisation with no testing, and being asked to pretty much define my own role, I am heavily into job descriptions at the moment! I am placing nearly as much emphasis on what I am not responsible for too, as there's a great deal of confusion here.

I wondered, what are your job descriptions - if you're happy to post them, or a synopsis of them, and your responsibilities? Also, perhaps, what is not included? I'd be very interested.
    "Even when the experts all agree, they may well be mistaken."

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Job descriptions/responsibilities

As a Consultant, my job description is very simple...do whatever it takes to make the users happy.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

A main aspect of my job description (which, like you, is a role that I have had to define) is to educate people on what it means to test and how quality is a contextual and situational term that testing, by itself, won't help you define. Further, my job description, as I have written it, is to become a credible reporter of empirical information that people value because it helps them make informed business and technical decisions.

Now, obviously, the devil is very much in the details but, as you can see, this description leaves me open to define a role as I see fit, but while still allowing checks and balances on what I do. After all, if people don't think I provide empirical information, then I'm failing in that part of my job. If my information is often not credible, again, I'm not doing so hot. If people find they can't make decisions based on what I provide to them, well ... you see the pattern.