Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Can Developer be a QA

Can developer be a QA, here is my delima, I have been doing Software Quality Assurance for 5 years, and I just took this job and In my QA group I have several developers trying to do QA, my project is a Data Warehouseing, all of the people are old timers developer, and they don't even know the definations of typical Quality Assurance and and i have been asked to run this group, and it is very diffcult to covince them on any QA process, for example they want to develop a automation tool to test the back-end ETL process, which I think is a manual process and since they are developers they disagree and having havey risistance to domanual testing, so I am looking for some documents that describe the QA standards and processes. I don't want to be disrespectfull to any one but it just a thought proces is totally diferent of a developer from a QA process, I have no problem with automation, I know Rational, Win Runner, Silk, but they don't apply to my back-end testing of the application.
    Thanks
    Neil

------------------
    Neil Chaudhry
    Cornered Tigers

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Can Developer be a QA

I'm not sure what your question might be, but to answer the title of your post - Yes. The right developer can learn to be an effective QAer.

------------------
    - Joe (strazzerjATaolDOTcom)
    Joe Strazzere
    Visit my website: AllThingsQuality.com to learn more about quality, testing, and QA!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Helvetica">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by mugarmuch:
    Can developer be a QA, ...<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>