User Tag List

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Interview

Points for Confirmed Friends

Interview

I have more than 4 yrs experience as QA, most of my experience is webtesing without using any testing tools, but i have learned some of the tools from my readings, now every time i go to a job interview they want me to know more than 10 testing tools at the same time, there is no way u can really satisfy the interviewer, what should we do? should we just lie and say YES we know that and that, if we will be honest we will never get a job!!

------------------

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Interview

Although you don't state specifically what tools you refer to I will assume you mean automated tools.

I think for the most part it depends on your background - if you have experience in programming I would admit you have had no formal training with the tool, but that you could pick it up quickly due to your experience.

Failing that, choose a major tool vendor and take their training courses.

I do agree in embellishing my resume slightly, but I wouldn't go so far as to say I was an expert in C++ when I have never seen it in my life!

Hope this helps,
    David

------------------

Thanks David for your reply, yes i meant testing tools, but if i took some courses in some testing tools to get a job i should get all of them, because every job required differnt tools, and every day there is new tools come out to the market, so we should study them too :-)
    yes i used to say i know that and very good in that in my resume..until one day i had interview and they made me take a test, like a real test in WinRunner scripts, and i was so shy because they knew the the truth :-)..so since then i started to state only the truth in my resume, but it seems very hard to get any job if you always state the truth :-)

------------------

Post Thanks / Like