Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Developing/creating a new QA dept

hello all you QA gurus.....

I've recently joined a company that is in need of a QA dept. Being brand new to this area (my background is implementations) I am looking for some guidance as to how to create this dept. as smooth as possible.

Thanks!!!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Developing/creating a new QA dept

Hi

According to your specifications, previously there is no department and you have to open a new Department.

It depends on lot of circumstances like How big is your company.
    What is the Strength you want to keep in QA Department.
    What are all the positions you want to Recruit.

For ex: There is a small company may be you need a manager and TeamLead and few Testers. To carry on the work smoothly. The total strength can be of 4 to 5 members. It varies from company to company again.

Hope the answer makes sense to your question

------------------
    Vinod
    vinod@sqatester.com
    Vinod
    If you want a high quality software system, you must ensure each of its parts is of high quality. by Watts S. Humphrey

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Hello,

This is addition to previous reply.

If your organization is large enough then you can have no. of persons are approximately 10% of no. of developers, however this is not a fixed rule.

You can have different divisions as QA & QC
    with subdivisions as Manual testing and Automation testing.

You can also have divisions as Functional Testing, Load testing, Regression testing & Compatibility testing etc.