Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Contract rate with staffing company for Sr QA Lead

I am expecting an offer for a Sr QA Lead (W-2 contract for 6 mos) from the staffing agency who is contracting with a leading financial company in the Raleigh area. I have 15 yrs experience in QA and testing arenas. What is a reasonable contract rate I should expect to be offered? The staffing agency only offers decent medical benefits in addition to the pay?

Thanks.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded
    What talents/experience do they require that you have?

Are you expected to move? Or is this local to you?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded
    Do you have a bazillion competitors who say they can do they same thing or who are willing to take the job at a market distorting wage to remain in the country? Is the manager being compensated on success or are they being compensated on the price per hour paid for services? Will the contractor make more margin on a different candidate at the same payment point from the client? Are you unique in your ability to deliver value?

Uniqueness always gets good bucks. The more competition you have which is undifferentiated by skills to the contracting company or the end client the lower you can expect your compensation to be. I get calls all the time with people offering me skilled LoadRunner professionals at $12/hour.....that are neither skilled nor worth even a dollar an hour. But someone is hiring them.

Set your own price. if you don't get it take that as a measure of either the client's inability to recognize your value or your inability to communicate your value.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded