Hi All, I'm faced with an issue at work which I would like some advice on. I've been working at a small company for over six years now. I initially started out as developer (for which I am qualified for) but due to need I moved over to QA. I performed the more technical testing, coding applications to test our in-house applications validating the data that services supplies our customers with. Financially our company is doing good but we are performing very poorly at adequately remunerating employees or growing employees' skillsets, and as a result we go through employees like toilet paper.

I was very privileged to have had a good mentor/manager to work under until he moved on to greener pastures, and we were left without a manager other than the Department Manager to manage us, which was never around. QA's numbers dwindled and I initially applied for the QA Team Lead position, but was denied due to them simply stating that I did not have the right qualifications. We went through a few more managers which was really hard to find but the company felt that they were simply not adequate. I then requested support to do a formal ISTQB Manager course so I can re-apply for the QA Team Lead and was told "it was about whether or not I can do the job, and had nothing to do with qualifications" and was put on QA Team Lead probation.