User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

Development and QA using the same scenarios

I am new to my company as QA Lead and am not accustomed to this approach. My development team has told me that we as a group identify the items needing to be tested prior to doing any coding, so that the developers know what to test as exit criteria. I have tried this out a few times and am not sure if this will work for me. I wanted to get some feedback if this is something that works for others and maybe I just have to adjust or if this is way off base and I should ask my team to adjust to suit my working style.

In the attempts I've made to use this approach, I have gotten negative feedback that my scenarios are causing confusion. I'm also finding that different developers want the scenarios written in different formats (one does tables, one likes Gherkin). One thing to note is that the developers will write the scenarios and then send them to me to check over (which is great, but if I want them written differently, its more work and could create friction between myself and the developer who took the time to write them).

This approach almost seems absurd to me as I do not expect developers to complete negative testing, usability testing, integration testing, etc. and I don't see why all of this should be documented in the card (we are agile and use Jira). My suggestion is to do separate scenarios (or test cases) and certainly share them, but I haven't yet seen the value in using developer written scenarios for QA testing. BTW, we do not use test driven development. If we did, I definitely understand the need for this.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.

SQA Knight
    Playa Del Rey, California, United States
    Post Thanks / Like
    17 Post(s)
    1 Thread(s)