Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Long term career goal in QA/testing

Hi,

I started my career as a web developer but due to personal reasons I had to stop working for couple of years and joined as software tester , I have been working in the QA department for more than 7 years I worked as a contractor so I got to learn different types of testing including creating automation scripts, database testing and web testing. Currently I am working as a QA lead.

Please let me know by your personal experience what are the options I have to grow in QA career and what should I be learning for my career.

Thank you

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Long term career goal in QA/testing

Like any other technical career, the options are endless. Some include:
    - grow into a more senior QA position
    - grow into management
    - leave QA for a related field
    Joe Strazzere
    Visit my website: AllThingsQuality.com to learn more about quality, testing, and QA!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

I would advise in taking some management courses to help build your skill set outside of the technical realm. That would open up endless possibilities while doing what you love to do, testing!
    SR

SQA Knight
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

You can go more into leadership, or more into technical..

Leadership..
    * Test Lead
    * Test Manager
    * Test Director

Technical
    * Automation Engineer
    * Sofware Engineer in Test / Software Developer in Test
    * Test Architect
    David Lai
    SDET / Consultant
    LinkedIn profile

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Thank you all for your advise,