Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Emigrating to the US - advice needed!

Hi

I've a question that I'm struggling to get answered anywhere else, so figured I'd turn to "Old Faithful" since it's related in some sense [img]/images/graemlins/smile.gif[/img]

Apologies if this is not the correct location for this kind of question, I registered on QAJobs but there didn't seem to be a forum, instead just a list of jobs. My question is not role specific, more for general advice and guidance.

I'm an experienced QA professional with 10 years experience, the last 4 in a management position working in banking. My wife is a civil servant working for the British government, with an equivalent amount of experience and also in a managerial role. We do not have children. We have both wanted to work overseas for quite some time now but real life has somehow always found a way to distract us from this, as it has a tendency to do! However, we're now in a good position to make a serious effort to making this come true.

Ideally, we are looking to find work in similar fields to what we are doing now in the USA, but the approach to doing this seems to quite opaque - research on emigration sites tends to focus on "get a visa" but it doesn't say how, what kind etc. Most places assume you are to be sponsored by your current organisation and don't tell you how to do it "from scratch" as it were.

Ideally we would be looking for a short term working visa for 3 to 5 years, although we do have the expectation that over time we'd be keen to make the move permanent.