Database Migration Testing

I am currently involved in a project that will be doing multiple database migrations to a single new application and database system. The feeding systems are varied and include Access, Sybase, SQL Server, each with various database schemas. All these applications will end up in a single Oracle database schema and with a new front-end application. I am looking for some recommendations on automating the testing of the data migrations. These would include processes such as:
    - comparing the feeding database values and the new database values to insure the migration has been accurate. This would include some limited logic because some translation of values will happen from one system to the other.
    - insuring that database integrity is maintained in the new system
    - check for business rules in the new database system (if value is x in this table, then value must be y in this other table).

I am new to this type of testing software, so any recommendations on where to start is greatly appreciated.

Elkhart, IN, USA

Re: Database Migration Testing

Someone sharp with SAS might be able to help. I saw something similar in a different job than where I am now. The SAS programmer was able to exercise the power of that application to compare the different database outputs with each other.

I am NOT a SAS programmer. SAS is NOT an automated tool. It is such a powerful 4GL that 4GL is not an adequate description.
    Michael L. Hovan