Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

novice in software testing

Im a novice in software testing. Well, i've been testing one of the company's system for three months and just this morning...my boss told me that i have to create a testplan for this project. I can follow our existing template (basically downloaded from the internet also) or create a new one. This is my opportunity to suggest a new software testing process as well (since our company doesnt have one yet).

Can you help me with this?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: novice in software testing

What are your specific questions?

When you want to start with a 'new' software testing process, check what already exists.
    What I do like is to get everybody involved with testing around the table and see what they know, can, and are willing to do with regard to test activities. For each test level (unit, unit integration, system, system integration, acceptance) gather the following information: definition (ensure that everybody understands the same thing!), responsibility, entry criteria, exit criteria, test design techniques, deliverables, approach to testing, retesting, and regression testing, environment, approach to automation (tools), metrics, applicable standards, communication (e.g. defect handling, progress reporting).
    When everybody agrees to (some of) these points, I guess you have a good start for your 'new software testing process'.
    Kind regards,
    Steven Deneir
    www.geocities.com/belgiansqa

Flowing water never goes bad; our door hubs never gather termites.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

It all depends on what type of project u r testing. What should be the thrust area for test cases etc. Understanding this will help you draft new s/w testing process.
    Shishir