Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Lightbulb How can I test remote control for television ?

Hi guys, I'm quality engineer in a television company. I want to test remote controls.Does anyone have advice??

SQA Knight
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    17 Post(s)
    Tagged
    1 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded
    As an engineer, I'd probably start looking at the inputs and outputs it has and what are the risks you want to guard against. Then start stripping away the layers.

Using my TV remote control as an example,

If I remove the plastic shell, I basically have buttons attached to some sort of logic board. The logic board probably has some chips like EPOM on it with the logic, some buttons, a power supply, and an IR diode. With that you can think of places you can hook in. For example, you can ask the questions: Can I test at the unit level (run unit tests against the logic the eprom)? Can I test at an integration level? (hook up the pins coming out of the logic board into an Arduino that can read the on/off state of the pins and detect the signals sent to the different parts? Is it possible to test it at an end to end level? (set up the TV hooked up to an input source displaying color bars, have a robot actuator push the remote's buttons and have a camera take screenshots and compare them)

Then you look at what risks you want to guard against. Is it the reliability of the buttons we have worries about? Is the TV and the remote developed by separate teams/companies and we're scared they might not be compatible? Are there environmental conditions we are uncertain about?