Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Testing of license generation.

How does one test license generation?
    Let's say, I have an application with multiple components. I need to perform functionality testing of all system components according to license allowances.
    I've dealt with functionality testing, but where to begin testing application license generation? I'm currently an intern, would love to learn - if there is anything to read on the internet regarding the matter - I would love to do so.
    Any advice would be highly appreciated!

Thank you!

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Testing of license generation.

If you have a separate test environment it should be easy to setup a new user and issue various licenses to him. Then just validate that: first, the user has the correct access for the license; second, the user does not have access for areas, functionality, or capabilities that he should not have. I would set up a matrix showing the types of licenses and their capabilities then start testing against the matrix. This is no different than any other type of manual functional testing so don't be afraid of it. Jump in and get your feet wet.
    The important thing is the separate environment in which to test. There you can control the users and license types without affecting anyone else.
    Personal Comment

Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm.
    ~ Winston Churchill ~

...Rich Wagner

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded