Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Illustration Letter Testing

Hello all,

I'm sorry if this subject has been brought up before; I did a couple of searches but couldn't find anything. Also, I apologise profusely if I have posted in the wrong section but this seemed the least inappropriate.

I'm a test analyst for a blue chip financial services company and my current project demands that I test letter output as well as functional changes. I was involved with a similar project two years ago but the letters then had around 10 conditions each so it was fairly simple to prep and test.

There are two letter types in this project but there are hundreds of conditions and ‘If’ statements based on variables within the plan the illustrations are being produced for. The testing for the previous release of this project (which I was not involved with) took an approach where they created a spreadsheet with expected results (based on document template) for every test case and checked each test case’s produced letter against the spreadsheet to check the correct paragraphs and data had been produced. With this approach, it took 4 hours (over half a day) to test each test case. Considering we will have around 100+ test cases (because there are so many plan variables) I don’t think this is feasible and I would like to try a more efficient approach.

The other guy on the project and I have some ideas but I thought it may be a good idea to post here and see if anyone has faced a similar challenge before and if so, how did you approach it or how do you think you would approach it? Any ideas or experiences would be greatly appreciated! Let me know if you have any questions because I'm positive I'm likely to have omitted vital information [img]/images/graemlins/wink.gif[/img]

Best Regards,
    Matthew

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Illustration Letter Testing