User Tag List

Post Thanks / Like
    0 Post(s)
    0 Thread(s)

Is Test Complete the right tool?

Hello all,

I'm pretty new to the automated testing world and my company is moving into that realm. I've been given the job to find the right tool for our company. So far, it seems that Test Complete from Automated QA is my best solution, but I would really appreciate any advice given. Below are my requirements that I made by visiting a post on this site:

Ease of installation, client & server components
    -Since I donít have much experience with the installation of these tools, I think we need it to be pretty straight forward with plenty of support/help files.

-Easy to maintain automated tests with a central repository
    If we donít have a central repository, it will be hard to keep track of all the tests weíve written.

Web based interface for test execution, report viewing, tool administration
    -This would help a great deal, especially since we arenít always local to each other.

Fully customizable toolbars to reflect any commonly used tool capabilities

Fully customized editor with formats and colors for better readability

Tool support for required test procedure naming convention

Tools support 64-bit architectures
    -Iím just thinking of the future hereÖ Soon all apps will be 64-bit

Browser support: all versions of Netscape, Internet Explorer, Firefox
    -This is a MUST

Cross-usability of browser testing scripts (i.e. same test script works for IE, NS, Firefox)
    -This would help a great deal on our ROI. Since we wouldnít have to write 3 or more scripts for each test.

Technology support for Mainframe applications: COBOL/DB2, TSO-JCL

Technology support for Packaged Applications: PeopleSoft, Oracle Financials Packages

Technology support for Client Server Applications: MFC (C/C++), Visual Basic, PowerBuilder, Delphi, Terminal Emulator, VC++, C++, C, "Shell" scripts on Windows/Unix