Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Unable to Recognize the Link

Hi,
    I am new to this tool(i am working QTP) and evaluating this tool.
    My problem is that TC is unable to recognize the links during play back. I recorded a simple script by going to www.dell.com and on this page i moved the cursor to "For Public Sector" link which gave me links in the drop down.Then i selected "State and Local Government" link.
    In my script i see the code for all of these, but when i play back it fails at "State and Local Government" link and it is unable to recognize the link.It says it could not find the link. I am using evlaution version,and i am working on IE8, but i tried in IE6.5 also.
    Do i need to do any settings for this kind of issue, if any body has info please do let me know.Appreciate your response.
    thanks,
    Sri

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Unable to Recognize the Link

Hi,

By what properties do you recognize the problematic link? It looks like they've changed their values, and TC cannot find the target object due to this.

Also, can you post here the code which obtains your link?
    Jared - AQA Support

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Hi,
    Below is the code for the link.In QTP i just record(let us the same example) and play back it works.I am not going into the depth of object recognizition in my scripts.
    I haven't assigned any objects in named mapping. Do i need to assign objects somewhere to recognize?
    Call iexplore.ToURL("http://www.dell.com/")
    iexplore.pageLaptopsDesktopComputersMonit.table.ce ll.tableMasthead.cell.linkStateLocalGovernment.Cli ck
    iexplore.pageDellStateLocalGovernmentDell.Wait

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Hi,