Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Is it necessary for a tester to have an exposure to automation?

Hi all,

I have got almost 3 years experience in Manual testing. But since ours is a very small company, we rarely used automation tools like QTP and PureTest. For each and every project we mostly depend on manual testing. Even though we plan to automate some scenarios using QTP, we finally end up with the same and routine manual testing due to several limitations like minimum timeframe, limited exposure to automation and even lack of confidence.

People in our company feel that, time taken for automation a particular scenario is very heavy and also to maintain it in case of future change requests is a very hectic task.

Also we feel that the scope of finding the functionality bugs is very low when we depend on automation. Hence we do everything manually and even we are very successful though we do everything manually.

My doubt is.....even though I am very good at manual testing, due to lack of automation exposure, will I get jobs in top MNCs? Is it necessary for a tester to have an exposure to automation.

Any suggestions in these regards please.
    Pragathi G
    SAAU Tech.
    India

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Is it necessary for a tester to have an exposure to automation?