Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Implementing a new automation testing process

Hi all,

Iím in a bit of a panic right now so please feel free to give me any advice at all.
    I've been a build and automation engineer for a relatively major project for almost a year and am used to the testing process of concentrating on one project (developing automation scripts, run daily automation, build scripts, verify builds). Each month we have different milestones and thus different sets of test scripts to code but itís always been focusing on that project alone.

Now I have been hired to a tester role in another country whereby the situation is like this:

There are multiple applications to support, possibly in the 20s of known applications (they can be applications of any types, SQL reports, DTS, Web Apps, WinForms); any developments to be done are requested into a queue system by the project managers aka system analysts.

There are 4 developers, no testers ever had been involved. Currently the developers are handling the test in a buddy-like system whereby two devs will pair up and one becomes a tester and they change roles for the next in queue.

I donít think there are any deployments or any daily builds, the changes/development made to these apps are probably on the fly.

Iím not too sure how thorough they actually test the applications they develop but I am suppose to be their ďsaviorĒ in terms of quality assurance.

My worry is that I donít know where to approach this issue from. I guess the first part of the solution is to gain the trust of the developers and make friends with them. Iím relatively new since Iíve only worked for 2 years, a year as a dev and as a year as a tester. I am very bad at politics. How do you make a someone feel good that you have found bugs in the software he/she wrote?

The second step I was thinking of was to just handle the applications one by one as it enters the queue, to let them have the Design, Code, Test, Deploy cycle.