Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Automation Implementation Project Plan

Hi All,
    I'm tasked with the daunting task of automation tool research and implementation. I have found TONS of great information here....much thanks to the Members & Gurus!
    I have found several tool comparisons and they have been helpful but does anyone have an MS project plan that they've used or a template they can share? It would help so much to keep the tasks organized.
    Thanks a bunch!
    C~

Avatar courtesy of the DOW Chemical Company: http://www.dow.com/Hu/

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Automation Implementation Project Plan

Hi Certed,
    I am a tech writer managing a test tool procurement. My project plan includes:
    scope, business problem with current practices and "pain points" of manual testing, project goal, executive sponsor, team membership, communications plan (internal/external), schedule of key dates, costs/benefits of automated testing, vendor references, budget, and high-level requirements.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Hi Techwriter,
    This is good stuff--Thank you!
    Are you tracking these items as tasks and milestones in Microsoft Project?
    C~

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

I have whittled it down to QTP and TestComplete and I'm ready to talk proof of concept and $$$ now. Out of the box, I'm leaning toward TestComplete because it bourne on .NET.
    I strongly believe (now) these tasks should be tracked in a MS Project plan from research all the way through to a test run of your first script.