Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Evaluating different Tools

Hi,

I' m a student apprentice (I' m studying informatics) for one month now and my job at the company is it to evaluate different testing-tools so that the company can decide which is the best for them and then maybe will buy one.

At the moment I'm evaluating Rational Robot, Mercury QTP and Segue SilkTest.

I would just like to know what are/were your first impressions of these tools? The 'look and feel', when you have used them first?
    I should say that I'm totally new to this topic, didn't have any experience in that before and also don't have a lot of progamming and technical knowledge.

Probably that's why I prefer QTP at the moment because it's absolutely the easiest one to learn, I think. It has the clearest build-up, the Keyword-View, the Active Screen (very useful!!) and an integrated Data Table. Also, you can easily insert Checkpoint.

Where are the disadvantages of QTP in addition to the other 2 (independent of supporting different environments and other technical things)??

How long did you need to evalute these tools or to get to know the basics?

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Total Downloaded

Re: Evaluating different Tools

You can do an effective evaluation in a month, for three tools. You might even be able to lever vendors in to assist with this with a comparative evaluation to some of the applications used where you.

All the other questions have to many parameters and you run the risk of being swamped with multiple views that conflict, where there is some use in getting an understanding of other peoples experience, you need to balance that with how close it is to yours and the organisation you are in.

Try the advance search on this forum as there are a number of threads that have people comparing some of these tools and also on the processes for test tool evaluations.